Jargon

9 06 2008

Currently listening to The Shins – Wincing the Night Away (I recently just rediscovered that album.)

What are relationships?

I’m not talking about dating or marriage. I’m talking about social connections with other people. (The point I am going to make certainly applies to dating, however)

Think about this: We all know lots of people. We’ve met a lot of people, too. The people we know and are friends with, we stayed friends with them because they were fun to be around or we liked their company or whatever. Family is like this, too. Even though we are related, we can choose to remain close to them (once we are independent.)

So…are all of the relationships we have just something were hoping to get something out of? I mean, if we didn’t like being with other people, we wouldn’t hang out with them. We have to have a reason to be with them. We have to get something out of it.

Doesn’t that strike anyone else as meaningless? I guess I feel like there’s more to it than that, but right now, after recent things with my dad and other people, this is what I’m thinking about right now. At times, this seems so simple and other times it feels so profound.

Maybe I’m just tired. I don’t know. With some of the things that I have been thinking about the way our society is, I want to have faith that we not all screwed up. I just feel so uninspired. So…dead on the inside. (Spiritually and emotionally) When I feel like this, I like to listen to the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack. Seriously. The cool, cool sound of that music just sort of fits.

Do you ever think about reality? I mean, do you consciously observe reality? When you’re walking around, doing every-day things, do you really take time and enjoy those feelings and emotions you get? I’ve been doing this. It’s kind of weird, actually. But, I enjoy it. I enjoy being alive and experiencing things. Even just enjoying something like drinking water feels so real. It’s difficult to really explain feelings like that, but really, if feelings were so simple to explain they wouldn’t be as amazing and wonderful as they are. I think God had that in mind.
Like I said…I’m tired. And I think too much. (Yeah, I did that purposefully)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

