21 04 2008

I was watching The Office the other day (great show) and I was struck by a particular story line in the 3rd season episode, Initiation.

One of the workers at Dunder-Mifflin, Stanley, makes a note about pretzel day at the office, where everyone gets free soft pretzels. He says that pretzel day is the one day at the office that he looks forward to, and at the end of the episode, notes that there are only 364 more days until the next pretzel day.

This is fascinating to me. The only thing that gets Stanley through the entire year of working at Dunder-Mifflin is looking forward to that one day where something is good for once. It’s a bright spot in the bleakness of his job at the office. What’s so striking to me is the thought of how often we do this. I can speak personally of moments where I am thinking, “If I can just make it to here” or “If I can get a nap or something else, I can get through the day”. Isn’t it so interesting to think about what can give us that extra little jolt to get us through whatever it is we need to get through?

What is that for you? What are your vices? What makes those things give you that release that you need to get through?

Actions

Information

One response

22 04 2008
Lauren

Normally, it’s friends, a vacation, a day of sitting on my butt and doing absolutely nothing, the end of school…..though right now, i’d have to say the biggest one would be a day without pain. That or the day they make artificial bodies and I’m able to afford one.

Leave a Reply

