14 02 2008

I had a little bit of an argument with my dad today. Basically, what I meant as an act of love and concern, he took as an insult.

 I had to write to my congregation at home in Indiana. I wrote to ask for money for the coming mission trip to Honduras. They wanted me to ask for money, but I felt weird about it. Since this past summer, after my parents got divorced, I have felt alienated by the congregation. So, when I sat down to write to them, I also wrote about how unwelcome I felt by them when I was there, and how I felt that they had missed an opportunity to come together as a community in such a bad circumstance. They forgot about Jesus’ unquestioning love that he shared with all people. I wasn’t saying that they were sinful, or that they were horrible people.

My point is this: Love is a huge and difficult concept. People know what love is, but they don’t always understand what it means. I believe that lovemeans having to come to people in a nonjudgemental way and tell them that they are faltering or not doing the right thing in any situation. That, in my opinion, is one of the hardest and most difficult responsiblities with love. Love is very easy when times are great, but in the hard times, love can be one of the hardest things to hold on to.

Maybe it wasn’t my place to say it, but it needed to be said. If I was faltering, I would hope that someone would come to me and talk about what I was doing wrong. Ultimately, my dad and I were fine. But, I think that as a minister-to-be, I need to build courage and wisdom in facing the tough obstacles that will be coming ahead in my life.

What do you think?

Actions

Information

One response

15 02 2008
Lauren

I think we always want to point out things that disappoint us. The problem with that is it can have majorly opposite effects than we were hoping for. I understand your wanting to say something, and don’t think you were wrong for doing so. I do think, however, that you should have done it at a different time than when you were asking for money. You are doing a great thing with this service trip. I don’t think you should draw away from that for any reason. Instead of technically asking for money, here’s an idea….explain the trip and it’s mission. Tell how it is helping others and strengthening or a testament of your relationship to God. At the end, simply state that anyone interested in sponsoring the trip would be very appreciated. If they would like, you can take pictures and show what their money went towards…..so they might be more willing to give more if you do it again. I did the set up for a mission at my church even though I didn’t go. I did end up making BIG time money doing so. And no I did not reap the benefits of it technically, but my soul did.

Leave a Reply

